Sprouts & Sprout Waffles

waffle1

As promised, a recipe using sprouts!  Although this looks like banana with a little waffle.  弟弟 ‘s favorite way to eat anything – put bananas on it.

Sprouting Basics

Why sprout?  Supposedly they are good for you… I’ve read some great info on how much more nutritious sprouts are for you than the unsprouted grain itself.  Sprouts are best eaten fresh, although I can’t tell you how often I’ve made sprouts and then watched as they rotted in my refrige.  I don’t like the slight bitterness they have – I guess it takes some getting used to.  My favorite fresh sprouts are lentils, they go nicely in a salad.

First, you have to choose what to sprout.  Here’s what I experimented with:

Sprouts1Don’t know if you can read my tiny labels, but these beans/grains/seeds are all gluten free.  Most were organic, although not all.    I took about 1/2 c. to 1 c. and soaked them overnight in filtered water.  The next day, I rinsed them, covered the top with cheese cloth, and set them out on the counter.  Rinsed and repeated on day 2.  Most were sprouted by then – tiny little white roots extending out one end.  Here’s what sprouted best:

1. Lentils

2. Mung Beans (random info- this is what most Americans consider as “sprouts” long white, thick sprouts often used in Chinese cooking.)

3. Red Beans

4. Buckwheat

5. Brown Rice (limited success)

The rest of the grains/beans didn’t sprout, either because they were irradiated, or too polished.  I also read somewhere that kidney bean sprouts shouldn’t be eaten – so I cooked them up after soaking overnight.  I suspect that the Job’s Tears and Sorghum were too processed, and their seed coats were removed.  I was unable to find unprocessed Job’s Tears or Sorghum.  After soaking the almonds, I was able to easily remove the outer skin, which is difficult for our bodies to digest.  Then I ground them and used them in other recipes.

Once you have sprouts, you can keep them stored in a bag in the refrige for 4 days to 1 week.  I found they keep best if you don’t rinse them one last time before storing them in the refrige.  Sprouts take a bit of planning – how much to sprout, and ideas about how you will use them.  Things I’m not always good at, which is why this “research” took way too long 🙂 .

Using Sprouts

As I’ve mentioned before, you can use sprouts to make Dosas.  I like to fry mung bean sprouts or red bean sprouts in my skillet with a bit of olive oil, salt and garlic.  They turn out nice and chewy.  I really like this texture.

Baking with sprouts is controversial.  Some would say that it destroys all the nutrients you get from sprouting in the first place.  I think that some is destroyed, yet some nutrients remain.  It probably depends on how long sprouts are cooked, and how.  I don’t have all the answers.    真的?  為甚麼?  You can figure it out if you want.  The reason I decided to bake with sprouts in the first place was because of what goes into gluten free breads, cakes, etc. to make them taste “normal” and yet still gluten free.  Have you really thought about it yourself?  Xanthan gum, cornstarch, potato starch, tapioca flour, rice flours.  All those ingredients seem stripped of nutrients, and difficult for the body to digest.  What is the point of eating styrofoam?  Even if it tastes like fluffy white bread?  1.  I don’t bake a lot any more.  Maybe once a week.  2.  The items I do make more often – pancakes, waffles, tortillas and muffins, I’ve begun to make almost exclusively with sprouted beans and grains.

Lots of ado about nothing…  Here we are, the useful bits 🙂

Sprout Waffles Recipe

Place all ingredients in a blender:

1 c. sprouted buckwheat

1/2 c. sprouted mung beans or red beans

2 eggs * sorry vegans, this recipe CAN NOT be made without eggs, it just gets mushy and doesn’t cook*

1 tsp. ground flax seed

1 TB honey or another sweetener

1 -2 TB oil

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Enough milk or water to just barely touch the bottom of the beans/grains.  Blend until smooth.  Pour into your waffle maker.  Make sure that the waffle maker is well greased.  I’ve found that recipes with beans in them stick pretty badly.  Grease between waffles.

I love these waffles more than my previous recipe with dry ground buckwheat, cornstarch and rice flour.  They are so deliciously crisp and airy.

waffle2

Troubleshooting or problems

experiment1

Lovely, aren’t they?  Here are some of my earlier attempts at sprout waffles.  Some helpful thoughts:

*you must use eggs

*if you’ve added too much water, and the waffle sticks like the above picture, simply add more sprouted buckwheat, and blend.  It should thicken up and cook nicely.

*I found that sprouted rice never gets soft enough when ground up in my blender.  I always get gritty pieces in my teeth.  The same goes for soaked Job’s Tears or sorghum.

*If all else fails, make pancakes with the batter.  It may not be what you planned, but even if the batter is too thin, the pancakes will still be edible.

Thoughts? Comments?  Complaints?  I’m quite proud of these waffles.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sprouts & Sprout Waffles

  1. Hi. Thanks for the wonderful site. Could you tell me where you get your lentils for sprouting in Taichung? I’ve been looking all over for them 🙂

    • I buy red lentils at a local market between Chongde & Mechuan rds. – I think I have it on the maps link, but this is near Morrison Academy, Chongde 5th rd follow west past a park, the market is right after the park. Big morning market from about 8-11am, the man I buy them from is near the park side of the market in the middle. He has bulk beans and grains as well as Taiwanese crackers and snacks. You can usually also buy organic red lentils in any healthfood store. I can tell you where some of them are if you’re interested

Leave a Reply

