Lasagna

DSCN2818

One of my favorite dishes during high school.  My mom’s lasagna 🙂  Not made when I was younger for obvious reasons – you had to make your own spaghetti sauce, lasagna noodles, ricotta cheese and tofu.  Not something that happened often at our house.  These items just weren’t available in West Africa in the ’80s.  When my husband went gluten free, there didn’t seem to be much point in cooking lasagna, most store bought noodles disintegrated in the sauce and everything was weird and mushy.  When I came across Shauna’s website, I discovered lots of great recipes and ideas.  One of which was her gluten free noodle recipe.  Wonderful!  I loved it.  I think I wrote about it somewhere on here before.  Anyway it got me thinking about what I could use it for.  Lasagna came to mind one rainy Saturday morning.  I collected my ingredients and was in love.  Lasagna again!  I think our whole family inhaled it the first day it was made.  One lonely piece was left over until the next day.  Unfortunately it did not survive inspection.  It was too firm and barely edible.    不好吃.  I’ve since messed with the recipe, and now I think I’ve got it where I want it.  🙂

Lasagna

1 batch of noodles from glutenfreegirl (see above).  I don’t have garbonzo bean flour or millet flour.  I used buckwheat and rice flour with the potato starch.  Ground flax in place of the psyllium husk powder.  It does fleck the dough with brown, but I don’t mind that.

1 bunch of mushrooms.  About 2 cups, chopped small so the kids don’t freak out.

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 1/2 jars of your favorite spaghetti sauce.  (About 36 oz)

1 can sliced olives

1 tsp. ground fennel

16 oz. soft tofu, crumbled with your hand into small chunks

Cheddar Cheese and Mozzarella Cheese, shredded

1.  Make your noodle dough.  Let rest while you work on the sauce.  Make sure it’s not too soft.  Add water a little at a time.  You want a stiff dough that can still roll out without cracking.  Reminder – this is fresh noodle dough, you don’t need to boil it before putting it in the pan, the sauce will cook it while in the oven.

lasagna1

2.  Saute your mushrooms, garlic and fennel in oil or ghee as you prefer.

3.  When done, pour spaghetti sauce over the mushrooms.  Add the olives.  Let simmer on low for about 10-15 minutes, just to incorporate the flavors.  Don’t add extra salt anywhere!  The cheese and olives will be salty enough as it is.

4.  In a 9×13 pan layer like you do any other lasagna recipe:  sauce, soft tofu pieces, cheese, noodles on top.  (disregard photo of noodles above- I forgot to put sauce on the bottom first.)  Finish with a last layer of noodles, with cheese on top.

5.  Bake in a preheated oven at 350F for 30-40 minutes, until all is bubbly and smelling good.  Cool, and serve.

lasagna2

Leave a Reply

