Trying New Things

I’ve been negligent in posting recently… too many birthdays, illnesses, and it’s too hot to cook!  One thing I’ve been enjoying lately are some Indian recipes from Chef In You.  I made some dosas, which turned out great.  Don’t know if they were authentic or not, but they were serious easy to make, no fuss.  They are really easy to mess around with too.  I tried split peas and rice with paprika, and they were awesome.  I’m thinking of a sweet breakfasty crepe version soon…

Another recipe I tried recently was fried taro.  Taro is so common here, and is usually eaten as a dessert or in hot pot.  I don’t mind either, but I’m not crazy about taro served that way.  This baked taro?  Yes.  Crazy about, though they are a tad dry.  And yes, I mangled the recipe.  I used the gargantuan Chinese ones sold here; steamed, took the skins off, chopped them and coated mine in 1 TB rice flour, 1 TB cornstarch, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp paprika, and 1 tsp garlic.  Tossed them all together with some coconut oil, and fried them.  Do you have a favorite way of cooking taro?

Leave a Reply

