Salad and Bread

We often have salad and bread, or soup and bread for dinner.  I was making this to take to a pot luck tonight, and snapped some pictures.  Lettuce is often quite wilted when I buy it here.  It generally doesn’t matter if that’s the case, unless it’s crushed and wilted. 真地?

Just soak it in some water for 20 minutes, and it will perk right up.

It’s a plant, it likes water.  Anyways… I don’t always buy sour cream, but I did for something

I am making tomorrow, and thought it would be divine in salad dressing.  This is a quite simple one really.  My mom always made this with yogurt, mayo and some parsley.  My parsley looks like this:Luckily, I had some frozen dill in the freezer and it was just the thing.  By the way, dill is sold in most markets with the rest of the leafy green items.  I buy it, wash it, chop it and freeze it .  Works great when you need a little extra something in a recipe.

Mock Ranch Dressing

1/2 c. sour cream

1/2 c. mayonnaise

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 – 1/2 tsp. pepper

1/4 – 1/2 tsp garlic granules

2-3 TB frozen/fresh dill

Mix together.  Taste, adjust seasonings, refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to allow the flavors to mingle and the garlic to come out.  I added a bit of water to make mine more like a salad dressing instead of a veggie dip.

Serve with salad and bread:

As I’ve mentioned before, gluten-free goddess has a wonderful site with LOTS of great recipes.  Problem is… not all of them work for me, especially the bread.  I think it has to do with the humidity here – I need to add less water, and also my brown rice flour is puffed and then ground… I should experiment with less flour.  :/

This is a recipe that works.  I adapted a recipe I found in my bread machine manual.  While I’m not ready yet to replace the eggs, I did decide to be bold and skip the xanthan gum.  I replaced it with ground flax seed.  This bread turned out fine, with a nicer crumb than it had previously.  So a grand success with the flax, yeah!

Bread

(ingredients are listed in the order I put them into the bread maker.  Yours may be different.  Not using a bread maker?  See below…)

2 eggs placed in a 3/4 c. measure.  Fill water to the top

2 TB water

Mix flours together before adding them to the bread maker:

1c. buckwheat flour

3/4 c. brown rice flour

1/2 c. cornstarch

2 TB flax seeds, ground

2 TB milk powder (I used goat milk powder)

1 TB oil

1 tsp salt

3 TB honey

1 1/2 tsp yeast

This bakes up a bit small in my machine.  Adjust as needed for what might fit yours.  If you prefer to make this from scratch – mix drys, then wets.  Kneed to combine, but since this is gluten free flour, you don’t need to keep kneading the dough because there is no gluten to activate here 🙂  Let rise in your pan in a warm place 1-2 hours, bake at 350 25-30 minutes.

One thought on “Salad and Bread

Leave a Reply

