Dragonfruit Muffins

We had a Typhoon Day(kind of like a snow day) here about a month ago.  There was a tropical storm headed up the strait between Taiwan and China… and it didn’t really bother us at all.  We stayed inside all day, dutifully.  I cleaned and baked.  The sunset was just gorgeous.  It kind of matched the muffins I made 🙂

Honestly I can’t find the exact recipe I used.  I was inspired by this post.  I mean, who doesn’t want perfect banana bread??  And then I had no bananas, but I did have a dragonfruit I wanted to use up before it went bad.  I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, so I just made 1/2 a recipe – which made 6 large muffins just nicely.  I massacred the recipe (sorry Jo-Lynne!)  But hey it turned out great, and I loved how it stayed pink on top, even though the rest of the muffin was brown.

Dragonfruit Muffins

2 eggs

1 small red dragonfruit

1/4 c. oil

1/3 c. sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 c. brown rice flour

1/2 c. cornstarch

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

Blend the eggs, dragonfruit, oil and vanilla together until smooth.  Sift the flours with the baking soda, baking powder and xanthan gum.  Stir in the sugar, then the puree.  Add some soy milk/rice milk if it’s too dry.  I live in a humid climate, so I often reduce the amount of liquid called for in a recipe.

Bake 350, 25 minutes.  Check for done-ness with toothpick.  If it comes out clean, it’s done.  好吃!

3 thoughts on “Dragonfruit Muffins

  1. Looks yummy! I hope all is well with you. One of our boys (remember Marcus?) is avoiding gluten. Micah’s wife is gluten sensitive too, so I like your recepes. They look yummy and gluten free!

Leave a Reply

