Rice Kugel

My mother made wonderful breakfasts for us everyday.  She got up early and made sweet rolls, muffins, coffee cake and rice kugel to name a few.  I on the other hand…make oatmeal.  Here’s a bowl, there’s some honey, enjoy.  Part of it has been how fussy it is to bake GF muffins in the morning.  Pancakes frustrate me to no end, so I don’t even try any more.

Rice Kugel is a breakfast dish normally made from eggs, milk, left over rice, cinnamon, raisins and sugar.  Simple and easy.  I thought of this recipe one day and went browsing the web looking for various recipes without milk.  I tried making it with soy milk… it just didn’t work.  Here’s what I came up with, and as far as I know no one else makes it this way.  It’s a compilation of this, that and some other things.

It’s not pretty, but tastes really good.

Find your ingredients, and preheat the oven to 350 F.

Rice Kugel

2 c. cooked brown rice

4 eggs

1 can Coconut Milk

1/4 c. honey

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 c. raisins

2 bananas, sliced

1/2 large mango diced or 1 medium mango. I’ve also used pineapple and that works just as well.

Mix it all together, pour into a cake pan…( I’m limited on my pans so I use a 12” cake pan for this.  a 9×13 would work fine, just adjust the cooking time – don’t cook as long.)

Bake for 1 hour or until set.  Cool before serving.

Sometimes I mix this up the night before, pop it in the refrige, pull it out and bake it when I get up.  Like I did this morning.

One thought on “Rice Kugel

Leave a Reply

