Flax, my new best friend

I’ve been having so much fun experimenting with ground flax seed in my recipes the last few days.  It is amazing.  I replace the xanthan gum normally called for in a GF recipe with 1-2 tsp ground flax.  They have turned out wonderful.  No longer gummy, and the recipes cook up fine even if they are more liquidy than I would prefer.  I’ve made bread, chocolate cake, noodles and blueberry muffins.  Everyone is happy.  The blueberry muffins were perfect, and I didn’t bake them with eggs.  Just added 2 more tsp. of ground flax and about 1/3 of water to replace the 2 eggs called for.  I found both the blueberry muffins and noodle recipes on this website.  Seriously.  I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to try flax seeds.  And the best part?  Omega 3’s

Leave a Reply

